literally and otherwise..

Good Morning!

So, today is my one day off during this craziness they call finals week, and what time do i wake up? 7.40am!? ahhh. that’s earlier then my normal alarm on weekdays. Anyway, I blame this inability to sleep in on the fact that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and its the first thing on my mind when I wake up in the morning. I mean I didn’t try anything new this morning.. I wanted to start with my winter classic. Oats with banana and peanut butter. YUMMM! šŸ™‚

1/4 cup old fashioned oats

~1/2 water

splash of soy milk

1/2 banana mashed in

2 globs of natural PB. (that’s a lot, most normal people probably don’t want that much PB)

Now, I cook it on the stove. I think it turns out creamier, but many people just stick it in the microwave. The stove takes a little bit longer, but its worth it to me. So, I boil the water, which takes no time, then I dump the oats in and shake some cinnamon in with them, and turn the heat done. A couple mins later I add some soy milk, then cut up the banana and add it to the mix. Then I use a fork and mash it into the oats, using the sides of the pot. I know this sounds like a process, but I promise, its worth it!! After it reaches the consistency that you like your oatmeal, spoon into a bowl, and then scoop as much or little PB as you want. You can get really creative with the toppings too. Oatmeal is a great base for breakfast. I need to try some new recipes with it as well..

I have a couple quotes for today. I read 2 books in the morning. One is called the AWEmaniac, check it out! and one is called Good Mornings. They are both positive, inspirationalĀ  books. I am a sucker for self help books haha. I also get a BBM from a group that sends out positive quotes too.. So, sometimes I am on overload, and sometimes the quotes actually hit home for the day. Today was one of the home-hitting days, so I figured I would share..

“Never let yesterday use up too much of today.” -John L. Mason

This is a perfect quote for the morning because it is giving us the change to focus our energy on today! Today is a blank slate, and it can be whatever you want it to be. How often do we worry about what happened yesterday, what we didn’t do yesterday, or something someone said or did yesterday? Too often.. if we take that energy and use it in a more positive way, we will feel happy and healthy.

“To be interested in the changing seasons is a happier state of mind than to be hopelessly in love with spring.” – George Santayana

This is a quote about acceptance and gratitude, which I believe are the essential things to being happy. Happiness is a moment by moment choice. We cannot blame our happiness on anything but ourselves. (easier said then done) So, what does this have to do with the seasons? Sometimes life brings us changes that we don’t like, but instead of fighting the changes and wishing for a time that has past (spring), we need to accept the change and learn to be happy with what is going on around us right now!

Ok, last one!

“Living the past is dull and lonely business; looking back strains the neck muscles, causing you to bump into people not going your way” – Edna Ferber

So, there’s another one about the past. No worries, no regrets! Live today and focus on today!

Well, I am off to finish breaky with my morning shows, then go run around for some Christmas gifts, maybe make some Christmas cookies for the kids I babysit! YAY! These stores may happen to be close to Trader Joes and Whole Foods.. OH NO..so maybe a food appearance fromĀ  one of those stores will happen? I don’t know! Let’s hope so!

Have a great day! Well catch up later šŸ™‚

xoxo, Leanne

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

